First things first (or fourth, or …)

This is probably the fifth or sixth time I’ve tried starting some sort of blog. When my first girlfriend broke up with me, I word-puked all over some startup’s Dropbox-linked minimal thing, but once that was done, it was done (and I’m not even sure if the host would still be there even if I remembered what it was). I put my Master’s thesis online,1 sort of like a blog, if you’re willing to call something that is totally not a blog a blog (hey, I’m trying to self-promote here, though really I think the biggest thing that keeps me from writing is the constant editor in my head whispering readers, readers so that I can’t do anything but think of that other person, the possible future reader, and what they’ll think of me). At some point last year I tried (on this Github repo even!) to do some kind of “Failure blog” inspired by Baton Rouge’s first annual Failure Fest, but eventually I burnt out on that too (shocking).

But I’m really going to try this time. I’ve decided I’m done with thinking about a reader, or posturing like I don’t care, or whatever it is I’ve been doing that means I’m not writing. That’s what I want to do; it’s what I’ll do. I’m also going to edit my own writing.

So there you have it: first of all, this blog is a practice for my writing and an outlet for talking about the stuff I read or watch or listen to or experience.

My name is Case

I’m a writer by training and a reader by trade. I get to read books to small children for a living, which is as fulfilling as I thought it’d be. Honestly the hardest part is figuring out which books are best for a big group: just today I tried I’m My Own Dog by David Ezra Stein and it did not work. The humor was lost on a big group of twenty, and kids to boot.

Anyway, I’ve been journaling for a bit and now wanted to take it to the next level, which in 2017 is online. So here I am. Online.

To be continued …

  1. I’m linking to the Github repo instead of a generated page because I’m still trying to get these published.